Staff

Maria Early Learning Center recognizes that our staff is the heart and soul of the program. We seek candidates who have experience engaging with young children, model Gospel values, and are committed to providing quality developmentally appropriate education and loving care.

The Center hires lead teachers who have a minimum of an Associate Degree in early childhood education or a Bachelor’s degree in a related field. Assistant teachers possess certification as Child Development Associates (CDA). All teachers have clear background checks and most are certified in first aid, infant/child CPR, the management of communicable diseases and child abuse.

Every two years the Center invests 18 hours per teacher of continuing education in early childhood.

Administration Team


Director
Lisa Nowak, M.S.
director@mariaelc.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Assistant Director
Jenna Way, A.A.
admina@mariaelc.org

 

 

 

 


Infant 1 Teacher
Jami Hampton
jamih@mariaelc.org
Jami obtained her Bachelor degree in Early Childhood Education from The University of Toledo in 2017. She has been with Maria Early Learning Center since 2015. Jami enjoys bringing hands-on activities to the classroom.

 

 

 


Infant 1 Teacher
Karen Holmes
karenh@mariaelc.org
Karen had been in the early childhood field for 25 years before continuing her journey with Maria Early Learning in 2011. She has an Infant/Toddler CDA from the Council for Professional Recognition. Karen enjoys making strong bonds with the children she cares for.

 

 

 


Infant 2 Teacher
Connie Bastien
connieb@mariaelc.org

Connie has been with Maria Early Learning Center since 2015. She received an Associate of Science degree from Monroe County Community College in 2002. Connie enjoys helping children master new skills!

 

 

Infant 2 Teacher
Scout Flores
scoutf@mariaelc.org

Scout joined our team in 2017. Scout is looking forward to receiving a bachelor degree in Early Childhood Education from The University of Toledo in May of 2018. She enjoys watching the children conquer new milestones.

 

 


Toddler A Teacher
Haley Kujawski
haleyd@mariaelc.org

Haley has been with our team since 2015. She earned an Associate of Applied Science in Early Childhood Education Technology from Owens Community College in 2010. Haley loves doing art with the children!

 

 


Toddler A Teacher
Isa Kasim
ikasim@mariaelc.org

Isa began her journey with Maria Early Learning Center in 2011. She holds a B.E. in Early Childhood Education from The University of Toledo. Isa enjoys helping children develop new skills with love and patiences.

 

 


Toddler B Teacher
Laura Deehr
laurad@mariaelc.org
Laura has been with Maria Early Learning Center since 2015. She enjoys bringing nature into her classroom! Laura has an AA in Early Childhood Education from Owens Community College.

 

 

 


Toddler B Teacher
Kelly Rice
kellyr@mariaelc.org

Maria Early Learning Center is a home away from home for Kelly. She has been with our organization since 2000! She loves getting to know all the children individually. Kelly has a CDA Credential from the Council for Professional Recognition with a focus on infant and toddler care.

 

 


Preschool Teacher
Gidget Losiewicz
gidgetl@mariaelc.org

Gidget embarked on her journey with Maria Early Learning Center in 2012. She is continuing her education at Owens Community College. Gidget enjoys teaching in a creative and fun way.

 

 


Preschool Teacher
Meryl Kornfeld
merylk@mariaelc.org

Meryl has just recently joined our family. We are looking forward to seeing her talents in action! She is currently working towards obtaining an AA in Early Childhood Education from Owens Community College.


PreKindergarten Teacher
Karen Caventer
karenc@mariaelc.org

Karen loves teaching math and science to the children! She began her journey with Maria Early Learning Center in 2013. Karen has a Bachelor of Education degree from The University of Toledo.

 

 


PreKindergarten Teacher
Amanda Pargament
amandag@mariaelc.org

Amanda received her Bachelor of Science degree from Eastern Michigan University in 2014. She joined our team in 2016. Amanda loves having conversations with the children and building from them!

 

 


Bookkeeper
Thomas McCarthy
bookkeeper@mariaelc.org